the for-benefit enterprise

I read this article online the other day, and I think it particularly relevant for when I no longer have the support of generous organisations like ReachOut, Projects for Peace and the Class of 1978 Foundation providing me with monetary support to realise my dreams. People like this make it easy to pursue a few years of service following graduation – they offer some kind of reward and compensation for trying to do good. However, the truth is that once my fellowship year is over, it will become significantly less appealing to continue with the good work – unless I commit myself to creating a programme or an organisation that can support itself an generate its own income, in addition to serving the community. This type of ‘for-benefit’ enterprise is becoming increasingly popular, and I think it’s a very good article on finding the intersection between creating a business and serving the community.

Leave a Reply

